Beef/Elk · Favorite Recipes · Mexican

Taco Meat

I LOVE tacos!!! Anything taco or mexican is my favorite and has been since I was a little girl. I don’t like using the prepackaged taco seasons you get at the store. They taste too salty for me. So for a while I was using Wildtree Taco Seasoning which I love!! But it hasn’t been in the budget to buy the bulk stock we need for how often we make taco meat. So I went look for a taco meat recipe and stumbled on The Pioneer Womans Beef Taco Recipe and gave it a whirl. I’ve done it twice now and love it! Not too seasoned, not too spicy and we use Elk Meat.

 Ingredients
1 tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 Yellow Onion, diced
2 lbs Ground Beef/Game
1/2 tsp Chili Powder
1/2 tsp Cumin
1/2 tsp Paprika
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Ground Black Pepper
1/4 tsp Crushed Red PepperDirections
In a skillet over medium-high heat add the olive oil and onions, cook till softened.
Add ground beef and brown, drain fat.
Add chili powder, cumin, paprika, salt, black pepper and crushed red pepper and stir to combine.
Add 1/2 cup hot water and stir.
Reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes.
Serve with favorite taco toppings!!! 🙂
Leave a Reply

