Chicken · Chili · Favorite Recipes

White Chicken Chili

Back in 2011, we shared a recipe for White Chicken Chili. It was a great recipe. But after making it a few times it just seemed to take forever so I stopped making it. Then I saw a commercial for a White Chicken Chili from Bushes Beans and it looked so easy! So what did I do? I tried it and it does seems so much easier! 😉

We made this once before and then again for the missionaries last night and I had every intention of taking pictures. At least one final picture. But I completely forgot! So instead you get the left over view.

I had doubled the recipe thinking that we wouldn’t have enough to feed us all and I’m glad we did. I think we would have just barely made it if I hadn’t. But I’m not complaining because now we can start working on a freezer meal stash!! A few portions for ‘left over night’ and the rest frozen and ready for later 🙂

Total Cook Time: 30 minutes

Servings: 8 Cups

Ingredients
2 cans (16 oz) Great Northern Beans, do not drain
1 can (14.5 oz) Chicken Broth
1 tbsp Olive Oil
1 can (4 oz) chopped Green Chilies, drained
3 tbsp All-Purpose Flour
8 oz Sour Cream
2 tsp Ground Cumin
1 1/2 cups finely chopped cooked Chicken Breast
Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese
Salsa (optional)

 Directions
In a large skillet warm oil then add chilies, flower and cumin and mix together.
 Add beans and chicken broth; bring to a boil.
 Reduce heat; simmer for 10 min or until thickened. Then add chicken and cook until hot.
 Add sour cream and stir thoroughly.
 Garnish with cheese (additional sour cream and salsa if desired).

**If you are doubling the recipe it takes about an hour to cook. From cutting/cleaning the chicken to the finished meal.**

Leave a Reply

